The Limelight

Have you ever come across someone so repulsively vain and egotistical they can twist everything into being about them? The kind of person who sees your posts on social media and texts you, or freaks out at you because they thought it was about them. The person who pretends to hate being the center of attention… BUT always manages to find a way to make himself the most important person in the room.

Yeah… Well that’s The Limelight.

I’ve known The Limelight since I was in high school, or like right after. You’re probably wondering why ANOTHER person from my past has come back to haunt me… I DON’T KNOW, but let me tell you he isn’t the last one. There are a few more prior to him that have resurfaced and I clearly can’t recognize a pattern. WHOOPS. My best friend keeps making fun of me because I think there were like 4/5 in a row that were all people that I used to be friends with or knew some time ago. Anyway, I met this guy many moons ago when he was the neighbor to one of my high school best friends, and then later his roommate. I always found him extremely attractive – until this whole shit show took place.

SO HERE WE GO ON THIS JOYOUS RIDE.

Mmm, so it was back in November when one of my favorite bands, Beartooth, played a show in San Antonio. Now, typically my best friend comes with me, but she wanted to be an adult and not go out on a work night… HOW SELFISH RIGHT? (kidding, she was smart) So, I went alone because I was NOT going to miss them. They had just put out a new album and I shamelessly knew every word to every song and I wanted to belt my little emo heart out.

AND I SURE FUCKING DID.

I parked my car down this sketchy ass street, that in any other city you would probably never park on but because I had been here so many times I knew it would be okay, and I made my way to Alamo City Music Hall. Everything was fine and dandy UNTIL I ran into The Strangler (who I will get to at a later point). THAT WAS AWKWARD AS FUCK, so I grabbed a beer to calm my nerves. I had planned on not drinking because I had work the next morning AND I had to drive home, but that clearly went to shit. A few of my other friends were there so it wasn’t a big deal, because if you know me in real-life, I have the world’s WORST social anxiety; To the point I will sit in my car outside of where I need to be and talk myself out of going because I am too anxious or nervous.

Crazy, right? HA-HA I KNOW.

It’s towards the end of the show and I see a good friend of mine and THE LIMELIGHT over by the sound booth. I tipsily slink my way over to them to say hi because I haven’t seen either of them in ages, and the limelight buys me a drink, and we enjoy the rest of the show as a group, and we are belting along because we have the same obsession with Beartooth.

 

Fucking cute, right?

**rolls eyes and makes puking face**

 

After the show is over we do some catching up… I guess that’s what you usually do with old friends, right? Well, he tells me about this new band he’s in and tells me he’s going to show me some of the music. Tight, I thought, he’s doing what he loves again. He messages me some of his band’s music on the drive home… and it was SURPRISINGLY WORTHY of my ears. We talked about me helping with the logo, and just chatted for a while and after that and set up a “date” to just get some food and talk about the designs and shit.

I didn’t think anything of it at this point, to be honest.

The date ended up being a flop for whatever reason, but we went to some sort of house party later in the evening. By house party, his one friend was there and like five other strange folks who were tripping balls and had a light show in the back yard. I WAS NOT AMUSED, but I still had fun because we were “chilling”.

You know whatever the fuck that means.

This guy was a smooth talker, he likes to tell you whatever he can to make you interested in him but is the right amount of an asshole to not bore you to death. We all know girls love assholes for whatever fucking reason. One night we literally sit in the car and talk about how he’s got this stigma as a total fuck boy and all this shit, and how he isn’t anything like what anyone said…. HA, WHAT A JOKE BECAUSE HE WAS, BUT We hang out a bunch more times, and finally it leads to me staying the night. I was like tight… where are we sleeping?

 

GET THIS SHIT. THIS MOTHER FUCKER POINTED TO THE COUCH AND WAS LIKE…. UGH, I DON’T HAVE A BED. WHAT ALMOST 30-YEAR-OLD SLEEPS ON A FUCKING COUCH AND BRINGS HOME GIRLS TO FUCKING JOIN IN ON THIS RATTY ASS COUCH. THIS MOTHER FUCKER GOT ME FUCKED UP.

 

But, you know the nice person I am… I was like oh… okay… well, I guess that’s cool since I’m drunk or whatever. Mind you every time we hung out it was him writing music and me just chilling while fucking around with some audio programs.

MY DUMB ASS BROKE MY OWN FUCKING RULE

I don’t date musicians, more so, dudes in bands. They suck. All of them. Band dudes are their own breed of man-child. That is my bias and I will keep it. Anyways, so I start staying the night more frequently, and one night he decides to come over to my place. We’re just chilling and suddenly he starts to freak out about having chest pains, and so I offer to take him to the ER because this dude is literally losing it. We go to this ER over by my place and he’s acting like a total ass to the staff, and in the end, he leaves without treatment. We get back to my place and this mother fucker was like “I want to go home.” Well, I don’t feel comfortable letting him drive by himself, so I make him follow me and we go back to his place. He’s on the phone this whole drive “talking to his doctor friend.”

I gave up sleeping in my mother fucking bed for this fool. I PLAYED MYSELF.

The whole time we were talking there was strange shit going on. He had this female doctor friend who would buy him all sorts of shit, and then there was one night when he got a call at 6 in the fucking morning after I had stayed the night, if I remember correctly it was after the ER night, from a chick. He would activate and deactivate his Facebook all the time, and his relationship status always said: “in a relationship”.  As an adult, I started questioning all these things, merely asking, and he would LOSE HIS MOTHER FUCKING SHIT, and make it seem like I was fucking crazy when I had all the right to be, because at this point he said “the only person I am talking to is you” and all that other horse shit I fell for but things were not adding up, and I do not want to invest time into shit that isn’t going to be worth it. He leaves for North Carolina to go record his band’s music and promised to FaceTime me every day.

Which I didn’t ask for, but what girl is gonna say no, YA FEEL ME?

So, his band mate messages me on Facebook out of nowhere, and I found it a little strange, but he was thanking me for designing shit and what not. So, I screen shot it and showed it to the Limelight, because I am not trying to jeopardize something with him.

THIS FOOL GETS PISSED OFF AT ME. NOT HIS BANDMATE, ME.

Right then and there I was like OH, so this is how this shits going to be. The rest of his time in North Carolina he ignores me. A solid like 4 days this trick bitch does not talk to me, NOT EVEN ONCE. He said he needed his space, and that he wanted to think about if he wanted to continue this.

 

**ROLLS EYES INTO MY BRAIN**

 

He gets back to Texas, and is a total fucking ass clown. It’s his band mate’s birthday and we made plans to all hangout and celebrate. I am the type of person to like to have a plan, and this fool got mad at me for texting him three times in the two to three hours it took him to “shower and get ready” to figure out the plan. EXCUSE THE FUCK OUT OF ME. He then proceeds to say “well I don’t know if I even want to hang out with you anymore”

OH, FUCK NO BUDDY, I HAVE A FULL FACE OF MAKE UP ON, I AM GOING OUT NOW!!

I end up going out and drinking at a bar alone. I am literally about to leave and this fool calls me. “Erin, babe, beautiful… come to Sidebar I need your help and I miss you.” If you don’t know Sidebar is cocaine city, and everyone gets way too fucked up there. I knew this fool drove so being the semi-good person I am, I was not going to let him drive home. I picked his coked-out ass up and took him home. We got into an argument that night because there was a lot of shit that we needed to talk about. I made the comment about how communication is a must for any sort of relationship to work, because it is. Get this…

 

THIS MOTHER FUCKER YELLS AT ME, “What the fuck do you know about relationships, your longest one was 6 months.”

 

This got me fired the fuck up and I told him to go fuck himself, and I was pissed and I went to sleep. I took him to get his car the next morning and didn’t talk to him, Monday rolled around and we both agreed we shouldn’t talk anymore and that was that.

 

Or so I thought…

 

Slowly this fool starts popping back into my life, texts here and there, checking in to see how I am doing. He tells me he misses me. All that BULLSHIT. Nope, I am not having it, but because I don’t hold grudges when he asked to hangout during the Super Bowl I said sure, and I went to his bands first show because I still like his band and even though I have no interest in him anymore I still like his bandmates and wanted to support them.

But, wait for it. HERE IS THE KICKER.

My best friend and I go to this show, and the girl I questioned him about being in a relationship with, which he denied, was there.

THEY HAD BEEN DATING THIS WHOLE FUCKING TIME AND THIS FOOL PLAYED HER AND ME. I SHIT YOU NOT.

But, she was giving me the evil eye the whole time when I had no clue. When I saw her there the light bulb went off in my head and I was like “WHAT THE WHOLE FUCK.” I had the world’s biggest epiphany and couldn’t even be mad at this point. All the stories and rumors were true. The Limelight is the world’s biggest scumbag, and I fell into his twisted trap.

 

 WHY DO I NOT LEARN? HOW MANY TIMES CAN ONE MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE?!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

